Opacity changes not affecting children

Forums Programming cocos2d support (graphics engine) Opacity changes not affecting children

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  mobilebros 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
August 11, 2009 at 11:45 am #216665

tof42
@tof42

Hi !

I am quite new to cocos2d so maybe I haven’t correctly understood something, but here is my problem.

I have a parent sprite A, with a child sprite B.

If I change opacity on sprite A, for example if I set it to 0, my sprite A become transparent. But my child sprite B is still visible with an opacity of 1.

Is it the normal behaviour ? Is there a way to propagate opacity changes to all children ?

Thanks !!!

August 11, 2009 at 1:35 pm #256278

Codemattic
@codemattic

“Is it the normal behaviour ?”

Unfortunately I think it is. You could make a Sprite subclass and override:

- (void) setOpacity:(GLubyte)opacity
{
[super setOpacity:opacity];
for( id child in children ) {
[child setOpacity:opacity];
}
}

Im not sure if there is a better way, there might be, but this is what I do. HTH, Codemattic

May 22, 2010 at 7:29 pm #256279

andreh
Participant
@andreh

Now that honor_transform is in place, the code above seems unnecessary. However, I’m still unable to get opacity to propagate to children CCSprites (scale is working fine).

Is there a trick to making this happen?

I’ve looked through forum posts and code examples to no avail.

TIA,

André

May 23, 2010 at 2:10 am #256280

crmagicxxx
Participant
@crmagicxxx

Why you think opacity should be propagated to children? On the other hand, visibility is propagated, so if you want to hide node and its children, then node.visibility = 0 will hide everything…

May 23, 2010 at 2:19 am #256281

andreh
Participant
@andreh