Model Implementation (MVC) for Cocos2D

Forums Programming Programming – Everything else Model Implementation (MVC) for Cocos2D

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  iUridium 2 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
September 1, 2011 at 1:52 pm #234893

tonyngo
@tonyngo

I’m a fan of the Model-View-Controller design pattern. In game programming, often it unnecessarily increases complexity, but sometimes it’s useful.

I could not find any example of an implementation of a model, so I decided to roll my own, inspired by Flixel, an ActionScript game engine:

I’ve been doing web development for over five years, but I’m new to game programming. I still have much to learn :) Please let me know what you think.

http://tonyngo.net/2011/09/model-implementation-for-cocos2d/

September 1, 2011 at 2:29 pm #345796

phil_me_up
@phil_me_up

Looks interesting – for me though, MVC is a very good way of writing easy to understand / maintain code (once you know the MVC pattern) but it probably isn’t the most efficient / flexible of systems and when it comes to games, you don’t want to be wasting any processing power at all.

I would be interested to see a more complete example.

September 1, 2011 at 8:13 pm #345797

tonyngo
@tonyngo

@phil_me_up thank you for responding. How can I make the example more complete?

September 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm #345798

psykano
@psykano

@tonyngo I’m guessing that, for starters, you don’t mention the Controller side of things. :P

September 1, 2011 at 11:33 pm #345799

tonyngo
@tonyngo