Good game design with multiple levels advices

Forums Programming cocos2d support (graphics engine) Good game design with multiple levels advices

This topic contains 18 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  marciokoko 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
May 10, 2011 at 8:52 pm #231202

mrcointreau
@mrcointreau

Hi everybody, it’s been only a couple weeks that I’m entering the cocos2d world, so: I’m a nooooooooob!

I’m getting crazy about the game design pattern, I’ve never programmed a game before and i would need some advices.

I’m trying to make a Super Mario like platform, so I came out with the following solution:

- a GameScene : CCScene , a singleton class for keeping my current level layer, my input layer and my default game player

- a Level : CCLayer , a class which contains the generic instance variable of a level, such as an array of platforms, enemies, ground level, gravity etc.

- some class such as Level1 – Level2 which inherits from Level and are used as specific layer, so that i can load them into my GameScene singleton class

My question is: could this be a good game pattern design or not?

Thanks everybody.

May 10, 2011 at 9:54 pm #329048

skyhawk
Participant
@skyhawk

doubt you need to subclass “a level”. Just have “a level” handle everything.

Also be sure to have a layer that represents your hud, that way it is disassociated from the translations / scaling of “a level”

May 11, 2011 at 10:56 am #329049

mrcointreau
@mrcointreau

Thanks for your reply skyhawk, I will follow your advice about the HUD.

I thought about having a single Level class like this:

@interface Level : CCLayer {
CCArray *platforms;
CCArray *enemies;
float ground;
}

@property (nonatomic, retain) CCArray *platforms;
@property (nonatomic, retain) CCArray *enemies;
@property float ground;

- (NSSet *)collisionDetectedWhileMoving:(CCSprite *)sprite atPosition:(CGPoint)position;

@end