cocos2d Javascript bindings

Forums Programming JavaScript Bindings cocos2d Javascript bindings

This topic contains 221 replies, has 36 voices, and was last updated by  hacioglu 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 222 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
April 25, 2012 at 1:29 am #240881

riq
Keymaster
@admin

Hi,

So, I started playing with the JS bindings for cocos2d.

History:

1) I decided to use regular expressions to parse the cocos2d headers, then generate intermediate data, then parse that data and generate the the JS bindings/wrappers

But it was too complicated. The regular expressions were not trivial (although there is project that is currently doing that).

2) So I decided to generate the intermediate data using the Objective-C reflexion properties.

Then I thought that it should be possible to avoid the intermediate data and generate bindings in runtime.

3) Then I played a little bit with JSCocoa. I did nothing. Just include JSCocoa in cocos2d-mac, and apparently all the cocos2d classes are bound to JS.

I have an example working here:

https://github.com/ricardoquesada/cocos2d-iphone/tree/js-jscocoa

Try the JavascriptTest from the cocos2d-mac project.

Example code:

// sprite
var director = [CCDirector sharedDirector];
var mainScene = director.runningScene;
var layer = mainScene.children[0];
var sprite = CCSprite.alloc.initWithFile('grossini.png');
layer.addChild( sprite );
var s = [director winSize];
sprite.setPosition( CGPointMake( s.width/2, s.height/2 ) );
sprite.release;

// action
var rotate = [CCRotateBy actionWithDuration:2 angle:360];
var move = [CCMoveBy actionWithDuration:2 position:CGPointMake(200,0)];
var seq = [CCSequence actionsWithArray: [rotate, move] ];
sprite.runAction( seq );

So, JSCocoa, apparently is not allowed on iPhone.

But the main purpose of having JS, is to use it as a prototype language now…

You can use it with an editor (eg: CocosBuilder + JS).